Cajun food in Cajun country

Bigleachguy24

Apr 11, 2022
Going to LSU/Baton Rouge for the first time. I want some good Cajun food tonight - where should I go? Specifically if you have gumbo recommendations, but I'll take anything.

Smoked Toag

Jul 15, 2021
I've always wondered this, but strictly speaking, BR isn't Cajun Country is it? I'm no expert but I thought that was basically west of the Atchafalaya River? Yes there are some Cajuns in the area but I don't think they are the majority.

The strong French/Creole/etc. we associate with NOLA and LSU isn't exactly "Acadian" or Cajun. People just call it that.

Last edited:

Maroon Eagle

May 24, 2006
Louisiana defines it as being west of the Mississippi. So while the City of Baton Rouge isn't in Cajun country, West Baton Rouge Parish across the river is.

Link: Here.

Palmettodog

Aug 22, 2012
THis is true. As a resident of Lafayette for 7 years and my wife being from New Iberia, BR and New Orleans are not considered cajun country.

That being said, Parrains in BR is some pretty good cajun food, but my favorite spot in BR is Mansurs on Corporate Blvd......that's some good ****.

Arthur2478

Oct 17, 2010
I thought that was basically west of the Atchafalaya River?

That's a terrible boundary for that distinction. Pierra Part, Houma, Amelia, Thibodaux, etc, etc are all east of the Atchafalaya. If you'd said west of the Mississippi River, I could have gotten on board with that but not the Atchafalaya.

Smoked Toag

Jul 15, 2021
That's a terrible boundary for that distinction. Pierra Part, Houma, Amelia, Thibodaux, etc, etc are all east of the Atchafalaya. If you'd said west of the Mississippi River, I could have gotten on board with that but not the Atchafalaya.
West of there is where they ultimately first settled. If you look at that link Maroon Eagle supplied, you see the darker red there.

There's no question that Cajun people then migrated to different areas.