In our last 5 games - we are 4-1...

dawgstudent

Apr 15, 2003
Running yard/game = 80.6

First 6 games = 46.83

I think we can see what makes the difference.

patdog

May 28, 2007
I've been saying for 2 years we have to at least have a credible threat of a running game to be successful in the SEC. I think you could also run a similar comparison for yards per attempt or completion and see the same result.

Aug 22, 2012
Running yard/game = 80.6

First 6 games = 46.83

Pretty reductive argument. We obviously are going to run more when we have the lead. So we’ll probably always have more running yards on a win streak than on a losing one. Doesn’t mean running is what makes the difference between wins and losses.

I’d say, without looking, the real stat that makes sense of our success is turnover margin.

dawgstudent

Apr 15, 2003
Let's look at the 3 games we won out of our first 5...

65, 22, and 30. 39 ypg.

Last edited:

047Dog

Jan 29, 2020
I've been saying for 2 years we have to at least have a credible threat of a running game to be successful in the SEC. I think you could also run a similar comparison for yards per attempt or completion and see the same result.

Our young backs are getting more experience. They have now learned to hit the hole, make a cutback, and miss some tackles. Their growth has been impressive this season.

The only problem with this is the expectation of some of our fans. Under Leach, we are NEVER going to be "balanced" and we aren't going to have 150-200 yard rushing games. It just is what it is. Some of our people need to get over it and realize that the smashmouth way we tried to do it for 100 years didn't really work out all that well.

Yea yea, somebody is going to retort that it worked out for Jackie. Yea it did, sometimes. But wouldn't our success have been a LOT greater if we had had at least competent QB play?