Looks like Freezer has.....

AstroDog

Oct 5, 2022
announced his starting QB in veteran transfer and 2 year starter at Michigan State, Payton Thorne. I have Zero knowledge of Thorne. Anybody have any thoughts on this? Kind of early to be announcing your starter unless you're like us with a solid starter coming back. Apparently, he beat out Robbie Ashford and it must have been an easy decision. Freezer does know offense pretty well so I guess he has the guy running it he wants.

ronpolk

May 6, 2009
From what I remember of the freeze offense, as long as the QB can make the WR screen throw, he should be fine

Drebin

Aug 22, 2012
From what I remember of the freeze offense, as long as the QB can make the WR screen throw, he should be fine
He only needs to learn four or five plays. They just run the same things, really fast.

Metcalf and AJ Brown had to be taught how to run routes when they got into the league because all they ran were streaks, digs, and slants in college. And without talent like that at WR, Freeze's offense gets very mediocre, very quickly.

IBleedMaroonDawg

Nov 12, 2007
He only needs to learn four or five plays. They just run the same things, really fast.

Metcalf and AJ Brown had to be taught how to run routes when they got into the league because all they ran were streaks, digs, and slants in college. And without talent like that at WR, Freeze's offense gets very mediocre, very quickly.
"Get Open On 2!"

OG Goat Holder

Sep 30, 2022

Metcalf and Brown only played for Freeze for one year - their freshman year.

MSUDC11-2.0

Sep 29, 2022
Thorne had a decent 2021 when defenses were totally focused on stopping Ken Walker. He struggled last year and Michigan State was under .500.

I think he’s average at best.

patdog

May 28, 2007
Thorne had a decent 2021 when defenses were totally focused on stopping Ken Walker. He struggled last year and Michigan State was under .500.

I think he’s average at best.