My portfolio is in the toilet. Thanks Joe.

Status
Not open for further replies.

scotchie42

May 26, 2013
I have been retired since 2007 and for the first time I am worried. Is anyone else experiencing that?

dorndawg

Sep 10, 2012
You retired in 2007 and the Great Recession of 2008-2009 didn't worry you? Or in March-May of 2020? Interesting.

PuebloDawg

Sep 29, 2021
It’s better this to happen under Biden than Trump. Why? Because Trump would get the votes to print more handouts. The Dems would saddle up with him and the RINOS would slurp up Trump’s electoral juice.

And, let’s be clear, inflation/recession was coming no matter who was President because of what both parties did during COVID.

It’s ok to think outside of the box, it really is.

ronpolk

May 6, 2009
I’m far from a market expert but don’t people generally move money out of the market in retirement?

dorndawg

Sep 10, 2012
I’m far from a market expert but don’t people generally move money out of the market in retirement?

The common advise I see is to go something like 80/20 bonds/equities in retirement. Of course, bonds haven't been awesome either but certainly haven't taken the ~20% (on average) haircut equities have.

GloryDawg

Mar 3, 2005
Things suck but don't sell. Stocks usually come back. You do not lose money until you sell. If you are planning on retire this year or the next few you might want to wait.

CoastTrash

Aug 22, 2012
Yes. It sucks but it would suck worse to be in Ukraine or in the dozens of countries in the world without American freedom and rule of law. #perspective

PooPopsBaldHead

Dec 15, 2017
The S&P is up 161% since July of 2007. +10% per year

US median home prices are up 80% in the same time span (equivalent of 400% if you used a conventional mortgage with 20% down.) + 26% per year

Gold is up over 214% since July 2007. +14% per year

Bitcoin didn't exist until a few years later, but it's up a zillion percentage points since it began.