OT: Cut with Knife

Sep 15, 2009
Was camping this past weekend and was cutting a piece of wood. Hand slipped and I cut my index finger pretty deep. Didnt go to doctor, just cleaned up and pulled it together with bandaids. It's mended back but should I get tetanus shot? Hadnt had one in a long time.

johnson86-1

Aug 22, 2012
Was camping this past weekend and was cutting a piece of wood. Hand slipped and I cut my index finger pretty deep. Didnt go to doctor, just cleaned up and pulled it together with bandaids. It's mended back but should I get tetanus shot? Hadnt had one in a long time.
I'm not a doctor, but I have stayed at a holiday inn recently. I think tetanus shots are good for ten years now? I think really likely effective for longer but that's the recommendation.

But I don't think they give you the "tetanus shot" after a cut. I think they give you something else that provides immediate but not long lasting protection and then you need to follow that up with the tetanus vaccine.

ETA: Also, even though it's bacterial, once it's set in, I don't know that they can just shoot you up with antibiotics and take care of it.

karlchilders.sixpack

Jun 5, 2008
Went thru this due a bicycle accident years ago. Nothing wrong with getting a Tetanus shot,
But it won't protect you for this occurrence. Takes time to get in your system. That is what I was told.
I got the shot anyway, had been many years.

thekimmer

Aug 30, 2012
Not likely to get tetanus from a finger lac but it is possible. In your situation the treatment would likely be a shot of immunoglobulin but if you cut your finger so long ago that it has mended already you probably have waited too long for immunoglobulin to do you any good. Should go ahead and get a booster anyway though for next time.

KentuckyDawg13

Aug 15, 2006
My wife just had an injury that required Urgent Care. They asked about tetanus, said they now recommend every 5 years now.

Dawgg

Sep 9, 2012