OT: Flagstone patio

dorndawg

Sep 10, 2012
Bout how much does a flagstone patio run these days? Would be looking for something like a 32x16. What are the similar alternative options?

Looking for something along these lines:

Dawgbite

Nov 1, 2011
Can’t help you on price. Mines probably 15-20 years old but I wouldn’t do it again. Too much upkeep. Can’t keep it clean, can’t roll grills and such on it, and it’s invariably going to crack and weeds and grass will grow in the cracks. The advantages are that they look fabulous and they don’t get hot so you can walk barefoot on it.

Mar 3, 2008
Hey Dorn. I’m a landscaper. I priced a patio like that yesterday for a lady. Right now we’re at $30 a square ft. Like bite said I would look at pavers instead of flagstone. We are doing paver for about $19 a square foot. Pavers will be level, with smaller joints, and pretty much no upkeep. There prices are for a normal pretty flat ordinary job. If the patio requires a retaining wall or steps it could be more. Also access to that area may add some money as well.

If I was smart enough to post pics I could show you some examples we’ve done. Or you can PM me and I’ll help you all I can.

Last edited:

dorndawg

Sep 10, 2012
Hey Dorn. I’m a landscaper. I priced a patio like that yesterday for a lady. Right now we’re at $30 a square ft. Like bite said I would look at pavers instead of flagstone. We are doing paver for about $19 a square foot. Pavers will be level, with smaller joints, and pretty much no upkeep. There prices are for a normal pretty flat ordinary job. If the patio requires a retaining wall or steps it could be more. Also access to that area may add some money as well.

If I was smart enough to post pics I could show you some examples we’ve done. Or you can PM me and I’ll help you all I can.

Yikes. Appreciate the info, and also from everybody else. Have you ever fooled with stamped concrete?

TrueMaroonGrind

Jan 6, 2017