OT - Memorial Day Weekend Cooking and Drinking

Seinfeld

Nov 30, 2006
Between my son's birthday party last night, a pool party and crawfish boil today, and then hosting a cookout tomorrow, we've got a busy weekend, but of course I've figured out a way to make sure that the smoker stays busy starting this morning.

Nothing too crazy as I'm starting with smoked sausage and chicken tenders today. I honestly have no idea what I'm doing with the chicken as I've never tried to smoke tenders before, but I've got them in a greek marinade right now, the plan is to smoke them for about 45 minutes or so, and then I'm going to toss on the grill for a quick char before packing them up. Any advice y'all have on these things is more than welcome.

Tomorrow, it's a pork butt and brisket point since it's going to be a small crowd, and I think I'm going the burnt end route on the brisket. I've also got a case of a Lost Forty mixer that has a great rockhound IPA in it for early drinking, and then I picked up a bottle of Town Branch cask strength for later on. I've never tried the Town Branch before, but we'll see how it goes

What does everybody else have planned?

ZombieKissinger

May 29, 2013
I'm 20 days into 40 days of not drinking w/ one cheat day, which was yesterday. Tried to make the most of it but definitely jumped around:
View attachment 24503
View attachment 24504
View attachment 24505
View attachment 24506
This last one is pretty cheap and pretty good. Not sure if it's in most MS stores, but I think it's a good intro to scotch if you're looking to test the waters

Got #1 and #3 at the local grocery store, #2 and #4 at Total Wine. Love the lax liquor laws here

Last edited:

Uncle Ruckus

Apr 1, 2011
Bought four slabs of spare ribs and some veggies to do some skewers - corn, squash, zuzzins, okra, tomato, mushrooms.
Going trim to St Louis cut and do one dry with a medium-hot rub, two wet with bbq, and one with a spicy rub with a pb&j glaze.