OT: More on picking a university

SLUdog

May 28, 2007
Everyone can't be a STEM major....

for the many reasons. The statistics don't surprise me at all.

Snave

Aug 22, 2012
Far more public than private universities, but MIT, Cal Tech, Stanford, Duke are some heavy hitters as private STEM renowned universities.

I can't see how people can afford private tuition without getting a ton of scholarship money. I picked MSU because it has a good EE department and I was broke.

SLUdog

May 28, 2007
I was thinking about abilities and interests.

I have a PhD in history. I can read multiple languages. I have a good memory and am interested in economics, politics, religion, and human existence. Not only did I have no desire to be an engineer, biologist, chemist, or computer scientist, it's unlikely that my cognitive abilities (or at least what I thought at the time) would have allowed me to do these things.

harrybollocks

Oct 11, 2012
You'll do well with a STEM degree from a good state school, but Liberal Arts degrees from elite schools carry more weight than those from state schools. Thus, the truly tolerant and open-minded people of the world, innumerate liberal arts majors who are are morally superior to others and let everyone know on twitter, value degrees from elite institutions more than those able to pass differential equations.

RocketDawg

Oct 21, 2011
I've never figured out what a liberal arts major does for a job -- elite university or not.

dog12

Sep 15, 2016
I've never figured out what a liberal arts major does for a job -- elite university or not.

Same.

In my opinion, a liberal arts degree is a waste of time, effort and money.

Just my opinion . . . no offense intended to anyone that has a liberal arts degree.

SLUdog

May 28, 2007
Arithmetic and geometry are liberals arts but...

most people don't think that way any more.

The top major at many universities is business marketing. I'd prefer someone who studied history,