OT: Sirloin Tip Roast

Eleven Bravo

Aug 31, 2018
Guys, I really need some ideas, opinions, tips or anything on this one. I’ve got several smokers on trailers, 3 smokers/grills on my back porch and an assortment of fryers, a big Blackstone griddle and so forth and so on. My point is, I have lots of experience with cooking everything from whole hogs to jambalaya to all kinds of seafood and meat.

This afternoon I was trying to rearrange my freezers and make room for a “freezer calf” that I’ll need room for in a couple of weeks. My daughter brings out this big piece of meat wrapped in white butcher paper from the slaughterhouse from the last one we had butchered. This is a big package with “sirloin tip roast” stamped on it. This thing is pretty big-it’s 5.5 pounds. I’ve never cooked one of these things-mainly because I’ve not heard good things about them. I hear that they are a really tough piece of meat and hard to get them tender. My buddy suggested that I put the thing on the smoker with a brisket and when the brisket is done-eat the brisket and throw the sirloin tip in the garbage. That might be the best thing.

Do any of you guys have any experience with cooking these things? I would appreciate your sharing any experiences/ideas of what to do with this thing? Thank you in advance.

WrapItDog

Aug 23, 2012
I have cooked it to make deli like roast beef for sandwiches. Main thing is to only cook to rare medium/rare, slice against the grain, and thin slices. If you have meat slicer even better.

Here is an oven recipe you could use as a reference and cook it on your smoker/grill

https://tipbuzz.com/sirloin-tip-roast/

Hugh's Burner Phone

Aug 3, 2017