OT: Things with your SSN on it.

GloryDawg

Mar 3, 2005
I got to looking and this is what I found.
1. Old Driver License--found in a kitchen drawer.
2. Miss State student ID--found in my dresser drawer
3. Honorable discharge certificate from the Marine Corps-----Hanging on my office wall. That wasn't bright.
4. My Dog Tags from the Marine Corps.--My daughter had them on her key chain.

Crazy it was put on the stuff it was put on back in the day. I am continuing looking now.

Reactions: PooPopsBaldHead

patdog

May 28, 2007
I think we can all just assume our SSN and other identifying information is out there for sale on the dark web. In the unlikely case it’s not, it will be.

Reactions: J-Dawg

WrapItDog

Aug 23, 2012
If you bought real estate in MS prior to about 20 years ago your SS# is probably a public record on the deed or deed of trust at the courthouse

Reactions: goindhoo

Dawgbite

Nov 1, 2011
My dad was a mechanic by trade. He had a large amount of Snap On tools. He engraved his SSN on most of them to keep other people from walking off with them. I have a lot of them in my tool box today. It wasn't a big deal back in the 60's and 70's.

Reactions: thatsbaseball

Fritz!

Oct 16, 2014
It is plainly stated on the card that it is not to be used for identification ****

Nov 20, 2023
My dad was a mechanic by trade. He had a large amount of Snap On tools. He engraved his SSN on most of them to keep other people from walking off with them. I have a lot of them in my tool box today. It wasn't a big deal back in the 60's and 70's.
Until the internet days came around. Now there’s almost no limits to what people will do if they get your SS# surely with all the bright minds out there they had to know this would be a potential problem in the future. This the USA, I mean cmon. Not a 3rd world country. Seems like someone would’ve realized the security threat it could become.. I don’t mean just your example at all just in general how freely SSN#s were shared