Soccer Post: USMNT versus Honduras...

Maroon Eagle

May 24, 2006

It's the United States versus Honduras.

The standings:

How important is this match?

Here's Grant Wahl:

I've been doing this for 26 years, so I've got some perspective. If the US doesn't get 3 points at home on Wednesday, it's a huge problem. I also don't get US Soccer's Minnesota-in-winter choice. But the bottom line is the US is still on track to qualify for the World Cup. https://t.co/cSo8ZLjcOC— Grant Wahl (@GrantWahl) February 2, 2022

And get this: Both Tyler Adams and Chris Richards are out with injuries & it'll be really cold-- we're talking single digit temperatures but with no wind.

But if today's match had been in Columbus, this match would likely be during an ice storm.

Today's matches:

What I said about them Sunday evening:

Canada at El Salvador — Canada are in the driver’s seat and have maybe the best remaining schedule but at the same time they have the disadvantage of playing three of their last four matches on the road. Of those three, this is the best opportunity for them to win— but El Salvador is a tricky opponent at home.

Honduras at United States — A must-win for the United States in order to create some separation from the fourth spot. This is their next-to-last match in the US and their last three contests are at Mexico, versus Panama, and at Costa Rica.

Panama at Mexico — Three of Panama’s last four matches: At Mexico, At the US, and hosting Canada— needless to say, for them to advance, this is where they need to prove it. They just have to make sure not to have a home letdown against Honduras before they travel to Orlando.

After hosting Panama, El Tri also host the US, travel to Honduras, and then host El Salvador.