Tubby Smith talks candidly about the transfer portal

onewoof

Mar 4, 2008
1690919721086.png

"We had over 800 Division I players transfer last year. Over 800. C'mon. Teaching 'em how to quit. That's what we're doing. Things not going well? Let's quit.

"I remember calling my dad when I was a freshman. High Point College. 'Dad, people not treating me... this and that... I'm unhappy here.' There wasn't but two blacks in the whole school. My Dad, he said, 'Son, somebody do something to you?' No. 'You're still getting your scholarship aren't you? They're still feeding you? They're still housing you? You're still getting your education?' I said, 'Yes, Sir.' He said, 'You can't come home. Your bed's been taken... But you can join the Army.' Best thing he ever said to me."

mstateglfr

Feb 24, 2008
The guy benefitted from transfers as a coach. He had like 6 incoming in one season when he was at memphis.

It's tough to be taken seriously when you recently participated in and benefitted from the very thing you are complaining about.

Reactions: MSUDOG24

IBleedMaroonDawg

Nov 12, 2007
Tubby Smith would be traderaping people in the portal if he was still coaching.
Maybe. Maybe he has a different perspective since he is no longer in the game. You are allowed to change your opinion. It's another game now, and he may look at many things differently. I'll admit it is somewhat suspect. He might have had time to think about his experience with transfers.

Chesusdog

May 2, 2006
Maybe. Maybe he has a different perspective since he is no longer in the game. You are allowed to change your opinion. It's another game now, and he may look at many things differently. I'll admit it is somewhat suspect. He might have had time to think about his experience with transfers.