Vandy Game 2 Thread

Prestonyte

Well-known member
Jun 1, 2022
5,261
5,214
113
Bottom of 7th….Dumbass no challenge at first by Kingston. Replay showed pitcher stepped on first prior to runner. Ref called runner safe. Easy challenge and it would have been out 2. Instead we don’t challenge and they get a hit and score whereas we would’ve gotten the third out on the pop fly and save the run. It would be 7 to 4 instead of eight. Oh, well, I guess it only matters if we lose by one run. But I am amazed we did not challenge a clear out.
Not a good day for Kingston
 

Whatever1

Active member
Mar 27, 2022
442
377
63
Really want to hear the explanation that works for the way the inning ended with supporting documentation.
Yea, I don't think there is any. The ruling is that we got the force at third with the hitter passing the runner between first and second ruled the second out. That means the play at second is no longer a force. That being the case, if you're ever in a tight spot with a run going to score, just have your trailing runner pass the other guy from now on because then the run counts according to these fools.
 

Blues man

Joined Jul 1, 2009
Jan 22, 2022
1,681
1,666
113
Yea, I don't think there is any. The ruling is that we got the force at third with the hitter passing the runner between first and second ruled the second out. That means the play at second is no longer a force. That being the case, if you're ever in a tight spot with a run going to score, just have your trailing runner pass the other guy from now on because then the run counts according to these fools.
The runner at 3rd scored. That wasn't going to change. The runner at 2nd was out on a force at 3rd. The runner at 1st went to 2nd and back to 1st. The batter passed the runner as the runner headed back to 1st. Out #2 came after the runner scored. Kinda the same as getting an out by pickle after a run scored I imagine
 

lexgamecock

Member
Feb 2, 2022
72
55
18
Only thing I can think of it when we tagged 3rd it got the runner out that should have advanced from 2nd. The other out came from when the batter passed the runner that was at 1st down the base path leading to 2nd.
How was it a single when our CF made the catch?
 

Prestonyte

Well-known member
Jun 1, 2022
5,261
5,214
113
Squandering big leads in Game 2 of the series is becoming a bad habit we need to kick!
It's like we get complacent and lose the killer instinct.
 

Whatever1

Active member
Mar 27, 2022
442
377
63
The runner at 3rd scored. That wasn't going to change. The runner at 2nd was out on a force at 3rd. The runner at 1st went to 2nd and back to 1st. The batter passed the runner as the runner headed back to 1st. Out #2 came after the runner scored. Kinda the same as getting an out by pickle after a run scored I imagine
You can't score on a force out, doesn't matter when. If you want to argue that it wasn't a force because of the running, then again, have a baserunning pass someone else to eliminate the force anytime it will happen.
 

Blues man

Joined Jul 1, 2009
Jan 22, 2022
1,681
1,666
113
You can't score on a force out, doesn't matter when. If you want to argue that it wasn't a force because of the running, then again, have a baserunning pass someone else to eliminate the force anytime it will happen.
What? Bases loaded with fewer than two outs you can have a force anywhere.
The only place a force out will not score with bases loaded and fewer than two outs is if the play is made at home.
 

Blues man

Joined Jul 1, 2009
Jan 22, 2022
1,681
1,666
113
You are wrong. The run does not score on the force out double play. Never has, never will.
Just to be clear.
I said #1 out was a force at 3rd.
#2 out was a base running error.
If you think I'm wrong, ok.
 

Whatever1

Active member
Mar 27, 2022
442
377
63
Just to be clear.
I said #1 out was a force at 3rd.
#2 out was a base running error.
If you think I'm wrong, ok.
What I'm saying is if that is the case, and the second out is a baserunning error, every team should just intentionally make a baserunning mistake when hitting a double play ball with a runner on third. It eliminates the force out and apparently means the run counts now.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Cybercock

Blues man

Joined Jul 1, 2009
Jan 22, 2022
1,681
1,666
113
What I'm saying is if that is the case, and the second out is a baserunning error, every team should just intentionally make a baserunning mistake when hitting a double play ball with a runner on third. It eliminates the force out and apparently means the run counts now.
How often do you think a team will have time to make a baserunning error on a typical DP ball?
 

Blues man

Joined Jul 1, 2009
Jan 22, 2022
1,681
1,666
113
Depends on the situation. Any flyball situation you'll see it.
Thing is the run would have scored imo regardless of the baserunning error. The DP was not of our doing. To have a team intentionally make an out makes no sense to me.
 

Whatever1

Active member
Mar 27, 2022
442
377
63
Thing is the run would have scored imo regardless of the baserunning error. The DP was not of our doing. To have a team intentionally make an out makes no sense to me.
That is simply not true. If the baserunning error doesn't happen, we also get the force at 2nd. Neither runner advanced.
 

88Gamecock

New member
Jan 23, 2022
3
5
3
Infield needs to get back to where they were earlier in the year. Some (not all) of the errors look like lack of focus.