Why does Clark

dawgoneyall

Nov 11, 2007
Not bunt with the left side of the infield wide open.
not being able to bunt is absolutely not an excuse.

ronpolk

May 6, 2009
Do you really want a guy with Clark’s HR and extra base potential bunting? A guy like clark is not in the lineup to get bunt singles.

Reactions: chuckster.sixpack

dawgoneyall

Nov 11, 2007
Do you really want a guy with Clark’s HR and extra base potential bunting? A guy like clark is not in the lineup to get bunt singles.
Yes.....if it improves his chance of getting on base.
A few of those "cheap hits" would make people rethink the shift.

ronpolk

May 6, 2009
Yes.....if it improves his chance of getting on base.
A few of those "cheap hits" would make people rethink the shift.
I doubt it. We got some decent hitters but really only Hines and Clark scare you in terms of they could hit a HR in any at bat. If I’m an opposing coach, I’m not too bothered by Clark standing on first base.

Reactions: chuckster.sixpack

Bulldog Bruce

Nov 1, 2007
When an opposing coach does something to a batter as defensive strategy to a hitter, that hitter probably should not have that similar action be priority one. As I have said in the past all hitting is situational and having Clark leadoff sure does send mixed signals. In one game this week when Clark was 7th or 8th in the lineup they got the guy in front of him out for out number 2 (I think) and there was a runner on third. The coach intentionally walked Clark. That tells you the opposition is ok with him getting to first base because he could do so much more damage.