Anybody here into restoring old cars?

The Cooterpoot

Sep 29, 2022
I'm doing my second Bronco right now. I'm curious if anyone has put EFI on an old car. I'm keeping the original engine in this one and just considering different options. I'm no pro at this, so it's a learn as I go deal sometimes.

Drebin

Aug 22, 2012
I'm doing my second Bronco right now. I'm curious if anyone has put EFI on an old car. I'm keeping the original engine in this one and just considering different options. I'm no pro at this, so it's a learn as I go deal sometimes.
I know a guy here who recently restored an old bronco. Not going to speak for him, but it's gorgeous. Maybe he'll pop in and share his experience.

Reactions: The Cooterpoot

LordMcBuckethead

Sep 30, 2022
EFI systems, from what I gather are pretty easy to install. I believe they require an electronic fuel pump and fuel pump module and a couple other modifications as well, but once you get it set up and get the basic programming running, they make the vehicle much easier to adjust for changes in elevation, temperature, humidity, etc.

T-TownDawgg

Nov 4, 2015
On older v8’s I’ve seen the Holley EFI system used with mixed results. It’s the simplest solution for what you’re doing. It’s essentially a throttle body injection system, not port injection. Depending on year bronco, adding more modern port efi manifolds can affect hood clearance.

Keep in mind, many efi conversions mean new throttle cables/brackets, computer, wiring, higher pressure fuel pump, different filters, new air box, oxygen sensor(s) in exhaust, and so forth. Depending on the setup, I’ve seen efi manifolds that were slightly bigger than carb manifolds which meant either shaving the flange(which is tricky) and/or having to change out distributors and belt drives to more modern setups, which also means water pump, PS pump, alternator, etc gets changed, too. Do your homework on this because it can get expensive just to eliminate a carb.