Anybody Stay in the Hamlin Hilton while at MSU?

wrapit

Nov 30, 2008
Yep. Learned a bit about Packistanian and Chinese cooking in the joint kitchen on one of the middle floors.

Dawg1969

Aug 22, 2012
Yes. Sophomore the year it opened. I knew I was old when I heard they tore it down.

dawgman42

Jul 24, 2007
Ah, that "exotic" summertime smell.....

It'll always be MSU's "UN" to me.

grinnindawg

Aug 22, 2012
Stayed at "The Embassy" Summer of 83
FB team had almost the entire first floor
Billy Jackson would fling another DL around like a rag doll. Other guy was ~350lb(Elvis Butler?)
DB drove a Mercedes. His family had money if I remember correctly.
FB players would pick up cars and put them somewhere else.
Every weekend some fine folks would decide to use the elevator for a bathroom.
Middle eastern students were obsessed with the movie Poltergeist.

fedxdog

Dec 7, 2008
Moved into the brand-new Hamblin Hall in the fall of 1966, like several of you on here, I was a sophomore. Great concept but without a car, I walked my *** off that fall. I moved into my fraternity house second semester and could use the bus from downtown to campus.

thekimmer

Aug 30, 2012
Stayed at "The Embassy" Summer of 83
FB team had almost the entire first floor
Billy Jackson would fling another DL around like a rag doll. Other guy was ~350lb(Elvis Butler?)
DB drove a Mercedes. His family had money if I remember correctly.
FB players would pick up cars and put them somewhere else.
Every weekend some fine folks would decide to use the elevator for a bathroom.
Middle eastern students were obsessed with the movie Poltergeist.

Could have been. Elvis Butler might be the most highly ranked recruit ever to play at State. He was the #1 DL and seemed like he was top 5 overall or something. Out of GA. Turned out to be OK but not great. I don't think he weighed anything close to 350. Maybe around 275?

The Peeper

Feb 26, 2008