FB attendance depression

sparks35

Oct 12, 2019
I have been sitting on the East side of the stadium for 15 years now. 2009-2013 were good crowds most of the time, everyone was riding high with the early Mullen years. Obviously 2014 was insane, all the games had an electric atmosphere. And then from 2015-2018 we had our up and down moments, depending on how the team was playing at the time.

2019 felt down at times, mostly because we just underachieved so much in year 1 of Moorhead. But even still, we had a couple of really good crowds that year. I think 2020 would have been a good attendance year because of Leach, if not for COVID.

For the last 3 years though, it has just not been the same. I sit in section 20, and I keep finding myself surrounded with more and more opposing team fans. The obvious worst was Georgia last year. That was some Vanderbilt stadium level embarrassment as far as I’m concerned. And last night I had quite a few Arizona fans sitting around me, and a lot of empty rows in other sections around us.

Has COVID just killed our attendance? Have we lost the desire to come and support our team? I understand that some people have just found other ways to spend their time and money, and everyone is entitled to make their own decisions, but it is kind of disheartening as a lifelong Bulldog. I can’t help but think this doesn’t do anything but hurt our recruiting as well. People talk about the price of tickets, and the travel money. But again, I always have quite a few opposing fans who travel from hundreds of miles to come fill up some of the seats around me.

BELdog

Aug 23, 2012