I may be retiring in July.

Dec 9, 2022
Before I develop the 1000 yard stare, I want to get out. No I'm not military, but I have the utmost respect for those who served. Any advice? Im pretty sure we are heading into a severe recession, but I don't watch the news at all. It introduces too much negativity in my otherwise very blessed life. Any advice from those who had traversed similar times would be greatly appreciated.

Eleven Bravo

Aug 31, 2018
I understand where you are right now. I semi-retired 2 years ago the day after my 66th birthday. I draw close to max SS check along with a couple of defined benefit pension checks from a couple of former employers. Back in the day, employers actually still had pension plans. It’s pretty scary looking at the fixed income situation because I worked in sales with high commissions for a long time. When that’s gone it can lead to discomfort for sure. My wife is still working primarily because she has a job as an Administrator at a long-term care facility that pays her over 200K/year. She wants to retire soon and I want that for her, too. We have very little debt other than about 50K on our house and I have 400 acres of land that’s paid off and in standing timber currently. Even in these times of depressed timber prices I could thin enough timber to pay off the house in 2 weeks. We will definitely have to tighten up on our spending a little bit and be fine. We realize that we won’t probably travel as much as we had planned we would in retirement but we can live comfortably even without her big salary.