Let's say Leach retires after the 2024 season...

shotgunDawg

Nov 13, 2011
No. MSU needs an offensive head coach.

With the instate recruiting crop, MSU should always recruit well enough on defense to put a respectable defense on the field. Our ceiling as a program is always tied to QB development, OL, & offensive scheme.

Thus we need continuity on the offensive side, which can only be from a head coach, because the moment an OC had success at MSU, he'd leave for a blue blood.

I would actually consider Mason Miller above all others on the staff.

Arnett - Coaches the wrong side of the ball.

Spurrier - Doesn't have the edge

Miller - Coaches the right position, has charisma, & has an edge.

Last edited:

BoDawg.sixpack

Feb 5, 2010
Consider? Of course...

Would I make the hire if I was the AD (or the cigar boys)...that depends on the pool of interested and feasible candidates. If there was no one interested that had a proven track record as a head coach I'd be disappointed. So yes I would consider him but hopefully he's not our 1st or 2nd option. If he is we've fallen further than I thought.

Xenomorph

Feb 15, 2007
MSU needs a recruiter. I don’t care if can’t coach a lick.

dorndawg

Sep 10, 2012
What are the odds Arnett is still here at the end of two years? 25%? Of course, if he left after this year I guess that wouldn't completely preclude him from returning as HC.

shotgunDawg

Nov 13, 2011
We've literally had like 10 defensive coordinators in 12 years & the defense has been virtually the same in all but a few years. I like Arnett, but I just don't see the value of making him the head coach.

SteelCurtain74

Oct 28, 2019