New residence hall at MSU

Duke Humphrey

Oct 3, 2013
With the $65m Duff Center, $33m renovation of Dorman, and $46m new high performance computing center, there will be a lot of activity on campus in the coming months/years

Reactions: aTotal360

8dog

Feb 23, 2008

onewoof

Mar 4, 2008
In order to make sure we pay for this and make considerable profit, can we require freshmen and sophomores to stay on campus? Very important to turn that buck while you can.

PooPopsBaldHead

Dec 15, 2017
96 mill seems like a lot for 412 students. But I’m not a dorm expert.
Holy 17. It's way too much. I am completely over the complaints about tuition costs if all the universities feel like they need to spend this kind of money to attract these future debt ridden complainers

To give you an idea of how expensive that is, I was just reading earlier this week about a new multifamily project in Frisco TX. It's at a development that is built around the new PGA Headquarters and two new world class 18 hole courses that will host 26 various championships over the next 10 or so years, including 2 majors... Not exactly low rent real estate.

This multifamily project will has 325 units of 1-3 bedrooms, a 5 story parking garage, a separate building for fitness and recreation, and will be 573,000 square feet. Price tag $70 million.

The Links

Assuming a conservative occupancy of 2 people per unit, the Frisco Links project cost just under $100,000 per tenant. But it's an ultra premium location and development. The dumbåss dorm at Mississippi State would have a cost of $233,000 per student. Think about that... That's like you and a roommate buying a $460,000 house from a cost perspective. Instead you get a 17ing single person pod and a shower down the hall? What in the actual 17?