OT: 7mm vs 300

ronpolk

May 6, 2009
I’m looking to get a new rifle soon. I recently got some additional hunting land that has a few wide open agriculture fields to hunt. I’d like something with a little more reach. I’m leaning towards a 7mm but I’m not an expert on either gun. Would love to get some opinions.

Dawgbite

Nov 1, 2011
Assuming you are comparing magnums? They are really apples and oranges. The 300 is a true magnum, the 7mm is a magnum in name only. The 7mm is really more comparable to a 270 Winchester ballistics wise. There are several newer calibers that are really flat shooting without the massive recoil of the magnums, 6.5 crredmoore should be an option although ammo is more difficult to come by. A 270 or a 308 are my choices for whitetail. Ammo is plentiful , relatively cheap, and easy to find and I’m confident with either out to 600-700 yards. Three secrets to shooting long range, knowing the yardage, knowing your gun, and practice.

Ralph Cramden

Jan 7, 2020
I hunt a lot of hay fields and usually shooting 200-250 yards. I bought a Browning 7 mag and it is nice but I have only knocked one deer down with it. Usually have to track them into the woods. Not much knock down power. I have a 35 Whelen that puts them down tho

tacodawg

Jan 2, 2020
All I know about a 7mm rifle is a couple years ago an old man in George County blew a guys lung out the side of his body with one from 6 foot away over a dog pissing on his mothers grave on the land he sold the guy.

So if you plan on shooting anything that close then there ya go.

NTDawg

Mar 2, 2012
I would get the 300 mag. The knock down power down range isn’t comparable. I wouldn’t worry about the recoil while hunting it’s only on the range that you would feel it. And it’s the best if you want to go elk hunting.

Last edited:

DesotoCountyDawg

Nov 16, 2005
7 mm or .270. I have a Weatherby .270 for hunting wide open land and have no problems knocking down deer at range.

Nov 14, 2010