OT: Bow Hunters

PooPopsBaldHead

Dec 15, 2017
I haven't bow hunted since I graduated from State 20 years ago. I had a High Country and took several whitetail at JWStarr with it. But I honestly haven't kept up with the bow hunting world since then.

I'm going to be hunting elk in mature timber mostly. Shot range will likely be 30-50 yards and all will be from the ground. I don't want to spend more than $800 on a complete bow setup not including arrows and broadheads.

What brands does the pack like? Is there anything wrong with PSE, Bear, and Diamond that seem to be readily available in my budget? My current belief is that unlike a high powered rifle, bow hunting has a lot more to do with the setup/fit/tune and the accuracy of the shooter than the bow itself.. within reason of course. Is that fair or do i need to stretch my budget?

Last edited:

horshack.sixpack

Oct 30, 2012
I haven't bow hunted since I graduated from State 20 years ago. I had a High Country and took several whitetail at JWStarr with it. But I honestly haven't kept up with the bow hunting world since then.

I'm going to be hunting elk in mature timber mostly. Shot range will likely be 30-50 yards and all will be from the ground. I don't want to spend more than $800 on a complete bow setup not including arrows and broadheads.

What brands does the pack like? Is there anything wrong with PSE, Bear, and Diamond that seem to be readily available in my budget? My current belief is that unlike a high powered rifle, bow hunting has a lot more to do with the setup/fit/tune and the accuracy of the shooter than the bow itself.. within reason of course. Is that fair or do i need to stretch my budget?
I can sell you my old Bear Whitetail II. You can shoot it, then run to the target and watch the arrow arrive. Easy to see if you hit the target, and you can start trailing it right there!

trob115

Jul 5, 2011