OT: Looks like there will be a new U.S. Rep in 3rd Congressional District

Status
Not open for further replies.

G-Dawg

Sep 6, 2012
I'm a political science grad who follows politics (usually) quite closely. I live in the 3rd and gotta admit I had no idea that Michael Guest was getting a real challenge. Can someone who knows more about what's happening in this race give me the details on how Cassidy (never heard of him) is about to topple a sitting (and to my knowledge scandal-free) congressman?

M R DAWGS

Apr 13, 2018
I'm a political science grad who follows politics (usually) quite closely. I live in the 3rd and gotta admit I had no idea that Michael Guest was getting a real challenge. Can someone who knows more about what's happening in this race give me the details on how Cassidy (never heard of him) is about to topple a sitting (and to my knowledge scandal-free) congressman?

I voted for Guest in the past. Heard him on the morning political radio shows multiple times. I didn’t care for the way he continually talked and never actually answered the questions that were asked. Honestly, he never shut up. He also voted for some issues that I’m against. I changed my vote this time.

Last edited:

Dawg1976

Aug 22, 2012
That's the bottom line. Cassidy sounded pretty good in the sound bites I heard but that doesn't always translate to actual performance. Time will tell....

ababyatemydingo

Nov 27, 2008
Guest has a record to run on. It isn't conservative at all. That's what is probably going to get him beaten. If you run as a conservative, you damn well better vote like one, if you're in the 3rd district. Or the voters will give someone else a shot. It looks like that's what's going to happen tonight. Cassidy is up by about a thousand votes, with 80% reporting. WLBT ran a story and has it on their website saying Guest had won. Really on the ball, there, with their reporting

natchezdawg

Oct 4, 2009
This excerpt from his Ballotpedia page....