Recommendations for programmable thermostats

Hellsyeah

May 22, 2013
We have had an ecobee for a few years and have no complaints

Last edited:

cowbell88

Jan 11, 2009
Have both Sensi and Honeywell home. Both are app based and both are supposed to be voice assisted ie. “Alexa set thermostat to 68 degrees”. I only use the Sensi with Alexa at home.

Aug 22, 2012
2nd'ed. No issues with two ecobees. Although I have no experience with other brands. Not sure how fancy they can get, or should get. I'm an old though.

Jwsjr

Oct 8, 2013
Looking at doing same thing. I have a home warranty. Yea i know.....i never ever buy extended warranties. However, I have 3 stand alone ice makers....you couldn't pry my home warranty out of my hands just for that....$50/month. Ice makers are the most unreliable appliance ever. They stand basically zero chance of turning a profit on me. They never asked me how many i have and no limits are listed in the policy. BUT, they do offer a discount and installation of Google Nest programmable thermostats so i'm just starting to research. We're not really using Alexa much. I guess that could change one day.

JML105

Sep 4, 2012
I'll second the Sensi. I've had them for years without issue and they are simple to program as is the app. I like that I can use them in auto mode so the heat or AC will come on as needed since in the spring and fall the AC is on when we go to bed and the heat is needed by the morning time.

MStateU

Nov 15, 2009
I happen to enjoy the game in the spring and fall of how cold will it be in this house when I wake up in the morning because I refuse to turn the heat on when I’ve been running air all day.

DesotoCountyDawg

Nov 16, 2005
I have two Sensis and have had zero trouble out of them. Had them for almost 3 years now and no telling how much money we’ve saved programming the thermostat.

onewoof

Mar 4, 2008
Nest is really the defacto smart thermostat. You don't have to get the AI version which costs $100 more I think.