So Clinton Christian Academy is disqualified from basketball playoffs......

Status
Not open for further replies.

Smoked Toag

Jul 15, 2021
.....due to a residency requirement? What is this requirement?

Secondly, when did Clinton get a private school? I thought they always touted their public school system?

vhdawg

Sep 29, 2004
I'm not an expert on Clinton private schools but I think this one has been there for a while, and Mount Salus has been a private school in Clinton for a long long time.

Maroon Eagle

May 24, 2006
Yep. Clinton Christian split off from Mt. Salus several years ago.

One usual MAIS residency requirement has long been is that to be eligible to play sports that year students transferring from one member school to another member school have to physically move closer to their new school.

I'm not saying that this is it-- but it's the most likely one in my opinion.

And Clinton has an outstanding public school system-- I'm shocked that the two private schools have lasted this long.

DesotoCountyDawg

Nov 16, 2005
Just because a school system is good doesn’t mean there can’t be private schools. If Clinton Christian is a legitimate Christian school that makes it appealing to some.

Maroon Eagle

May 24, 2006
I agree.

I'm just a little shocked though that Clinton's population can support two private schools.

Counties with Clinton's population have had private schools merge or close.

patdog

May 28, 2007
I suspect the Clinton private schools are pulling a lot of kids from Hinds County school system as well.

Maroon Eagle

May 24, 2006
They'd have to but they also have Central Hinds, Rebul, & Hillcrest in Hinds County as well as schools in neighboring counties such as Tri-County and Copiah.

Those pie slices appear pretty thin...

615dawg

Jun 4, 2007
Yep. Mt. Salus Christian School split a few years ago and Clinton Christian was formed.