Votes: 65 30.4%
  • 2001 - 2010

Votes: 63 29.4%
  • After 2011

Votes: 17 7.9%

• Total voters

TXDawg.sixpack

Apr 10, 2009
I ask this question because I feel it frames our expectations.

My Dad graduated in 1970 and always expects the worst from all MSU sports.

I was born in 1974 and graduated in 1997. Growing up, I watched the bad football teams, but also watched the Clark/Palmero era of baseball. I was a student for the early Sherrill years and the 1996 Final Four run. I’m hopefully optimistic but understand crushing disappointment.

My son was born in 2004. His earliest introduction to MSU football was Mullen’s teams. He has a baseball signed by the 2013 College World Series team and he followed the 2019(?) women’s basketball team to their (near) Championship. He lived the 2021 baseball Championship run. He is a current student and thinks MSU is a premier college program that should dominate every sport.

To me, MSU sports & our expectations is a generational thing. how much does your age/experience frame your perception of MSU sports?

ZombieKissinger

May 29, 2013
I was a freshman for the last year of Sherrill and the 2003-2004 basketball team. Going to all those basketball games was awesome, but it was a terrible time for football. I started watching football games around 1994, though, and always went to the bowl games + the SEC Championship with my dad, so I got to see all that. It made me hopeful for football but increasingly pessimistic as Alabama pulled away. This football season has been encouraging to me because of all the different teams in the playoff hunt + the field expanding. It’s nice that all the SEC teams look beatable. Hoping it gets even more like that in the next few years. Just wish we had a decent team now.

Beretta.sixpack

Oct 29, 2009
I paraded the campus the night we won to make it to the Final Four
I was in Atlanta for the SEC championship game
I knew guys on one of the Omaha teams

all while i was in school....