Why do parents suck? (Youth Baseball)

beachbumdawg

Nov 28, 2006
I’ll preface this to say - I am a paid coach (minimal) and yes I have a kid on team

it’s fall season so I understand other sports are being played - we have practices 2x per week (one indoor/outdoor) open for everyone-if you can’t make it, ok, get your work in on the other days

all that said, we have 12 on the roster understanding that we’re most likely playing with 9 or 10 - this past weekend had all 12 - so more sitting than most parents like (I’ve erred on sitting mine more - he gets ABs and plays wherever/whenever - I don’t care if he’s in RF, C, SS etc) he’s 11 - that will all sort itself out in 3-4 years

one particular kid in midst of football hasn’t made many if any practices (remember get your work in) and has left tournaments early for football - ok no problem- we work defense and bench based on who is coming and going

yesterday said kid sat for 3innings total but is hitting in the 5 spot - he’s starting the game sitting because, he’s the first guy up to warm to go in to pitch if starter is off or is getting shelled in bracket

ole dad (who is a varsity fb coach and hc for varsity on WBB) shows up late to game after tying one on (again) at BWWs - he gets pissed “his boy is sitting” again (let’s everyone know his displeasure at facility) - he tells his boy, pack your stuff we’re leaving in bottom 1st with his boy on deck coming up in top of 2nd

I’ve had great experiences with parents overall over the years

it just sucks for the kid that not only is he teaching that kind of life lesson to his son but that he also gets to impact other kids as well whom is not his

Bulldog45

Oct 2, 2018
Way I see it if you’re getting paid then the parents are paying customers. Need to draw a clear distinction between an all volunteer share the cost approach or paid serious travel ball where you play down to get those rings.

Drebin

Aug 22, 2012