SEC officials uphold controversial call against Florida vs. Georgia

A wild heave downfield from Florida quarterback DJ Lagway toward receiver J. Michael Sturdivant was ruled incomplete late in the game against Georgia. Various camera angles made it look like a potential catch, and the play went to replay review.
After viewing it for about a minute, replay officials determined there wasn’t enough to overturn it, ruling the call on the field upheld. The throw came on third down, and Florida would turn it over on downs one play later, giving Georgia the ball back with a 24-20 lead and 3:13 remaining in the game.
You can view the potentially controversial call below. The broadcast crew commented on it quite a bit.
“You can’t see if the tip of the ball hit between his hands,” rules expert Matt Austin said on the broadcast. “It looks like the ball’s coming down point first. When we get a nice, clean view it’s sideways in his hands. It almost feels like the ball had to have hit the ground in between. But again, you can’t assume. You can only go with what you can tell. The ruling on the field is incomplete, so I’m not sure how you overturn it.”
The rest of the ABC broadcast crew voiced its opinions on the call, too. Joe Tessitore was relatively neutral on things, while Jordan Rodgers thought it should have been ruled a catch for Florida.
Top 10
- 1New
Brian Kelly
LSU firing letter obtained
- 2Hot
Auburn announces QB1
Latest on Arnold, Daniels
- 3
College Football Playoff
The eye test for top teams
- 4Trending
CFB TV ratings
Top 10 games from Week 10
- 5
Dabo Swinney
Refs need to answer for mistakes
Get the Daily On3 Newsletter in your inbox every morning
By clicking "Subscribe to Newsletter", I agree to On3's Privacy Notice, Terms, and use of my personal information described therein.
“One thing I want to point out, it looks like the nose of the ball hits his left forearm and then goes perpendicular to his arm, so sideways and then bounces up,” Rodgers said. “It looks like a catch to me, Tess, I don’t know. It’s so close.”
Austin once again chimed in on the call, which eventually went against Florida on replay, too. It was a decisive moment in the game.
“It’s got to be clear and obvious to overturn the call on the field,” Austin said. “I just don’t see that here. And from that view it looks like it got between his hands. I just think there’s too much uncertainty.”