OT: Shipping Cost Good News

Status
Not open for further replies.

johnson86-1

Aug 22, 2012

horshack.sixpack

Oct 30, 2012
Is it dropping because pandemic related log jams are being eliminated? Or is it because we are in a recession and the log jams are gone because of demand drop?
Article just doesn't say, and i have zero knowledge of the why. Just thought it was interesting, and nice to see things getting closer to pre-pandemic.

Seinfeld

Nov 30, 2006
It’s funny you bring this up because Pottery Barn triggered me over shipping costs just this morning. I’ve been needing to order a couple cabinet pieces for a while now, and I was happy to see sometime during the last week that PB had the ones I wanted marked down by 20%, so I thought I’d go ahead and get them ordered before I missed out on the sale.

Well, I get everything situated in my cart and right as I get to the billing portion, I immediately spot the $209 charge for shipping. Yes, $209 shipping for $440 of merch. Well, my curiosity got the better of me, and I pulled up some of my invoices from last year which showed that I had paid $75 on similar orders. So what happened? Easy… those mother17ers advertised a 20% discount and then multiplied the shipping costs by 2.5x so that I’m not saving a dime. Considering the drastic reductions in logistics costs which I know all too well being that I’ve been in supply chain and operations for nearly 20 years, these 17ers are playing a marketing shell game that honestly may be illegal. I’d be curious to find out

Reactions: HRMSU and Ranchdawg

Cantdoitsal

Sep 26, 2022
Article just doesn't say, and i have zero knowledge of the why. Just thought it was interesting, and nice to see things getting closer to pre-pandemic.
We ain't nowhere near sniffin' pre-pandemic on anything because that would be the economy we HAD pre-pandemic which was firing on all cylinders.

horshack.sixpack

Oct 30, 2012