More OT: "Do you remember where you were when..."

Drebin

Aug 22, 2012
I remember my parents always telling me "I remember exactly where I was when JFK got shot," or "when Armstrong walked on the moon."

What will you be telling your kids/grandkids?

The obvious ones are 9/11, or the OJ trial, or when Reagan got shot, or whatever.

I'll start: I remember exactly where I was the day the Space Shuttle Challenger blew up. We were watching it live on TV in my physics class in 10th grade.

I also remember the exact day and time when this happened:

dawgman42

Jul 24, 2007
I'll start: I remember exactly where I was the day the Space Shuttle Challenger blew up. We were watching it live on TV in my physics class in 10th grade.

Watched it live in 7th Grade science class. Was eerie with a lot of extended silence in a group of 12–13-year-olds.

MSUDC11-2.0

Sep 29, 2022
I hate to say it but the world shutting down in March 2020 was a big one. I’m a CPA and I got in at 8 or 9 that night (tax season) and remember listening to the baseball postgame show on the drive home after we beat Texas Tech in Biloxi. Walked in my house to my wife telling me that Tom Hanks and Rita Wilson had COVID and then shortly after the NBA announced it was shutting down its season.

We had lunch with one of our pastors the next day and I remember him telling me the church would still have in-person services that Sunday… we ended up not having in-person services for three months. My wife was a teacher and her school year just abruptly ended at spring break. She didn’t work for almost 5 months and was going stir crazy. My job didn’t really change much thankfully. But what a bizarre time. Wild to think that it wasn’t that long ago where you weren’t allowed to go get a hair cut.

Drebin

Aug 22, 2012